August 16, 2022

Reporters’ Diary

Factual Reportage

APFFLON inaugurate new chapters executives

By Joy Enamuna

The African Association of Professional Freight Forwarders and Logistics of Nigeria (APFFLON) has inaugurated its chapter’s executives at four major ports in Lagos.

The association which was set up about three years ago, and headed by National President of APFFLON Otunba Frank Ogunojemite has its chapter’s executives in ports, Abuja, Lagos, Enugu, and Onne Port

Speaking to journalist after the swearing into office of the four chapters Executives, and restructuring of airport chapter, he said “we are not just swearing into office our executives, but we are very much consigned about their welfare”.

“We have put in place insurance policy plan since this job is not a pensionable one. We have landed scheme for them so that some of them can be landlords, we have health care insurance in which some of our members go to take treatment” he said.

While feeding questions from journalists at the event which was held in Ikeja, he said APFFLON is going to be working differently from the old style of handling terminal operations, police and customs issues, adding that “we will not allow our members to be suffering in the ports anymore. Rather we will put all the government agencies on their”.

In the same vain, while expressing displeasure over the way and manner terminal operations, police and customs handle some operational challenges, Comrade Emeka Godfrey Nwosu who will be representing APFFLON as Tin Island Chairman said he and his theme will be on ground fully to make sure his members have a level playing ground. “Every issues relating to operations will be followed up to a logical conclusion”.

APFFLON Apapa Port Chairman, Alhaji Ibrahim Hassan said his executives had full confidence in him base on his previous antecedence and record that he will deliver a good job.

Newly appointed National Executives are

Chief Bartholomew Onuoha- Vice President

Barr. Olusegun Balogun, Esq. – Asst. General Secretary

Barr. Adeniyi Adebowale, Esq. – Fin. Secretary

Barr. Oloruntosin Otuyiga, Esq. – Treasurer

Fwrdr Patricia Agboje- Head of Business Development and Investment

Fwrdr El-Sabyl Mavis Ogheneovie- Welfare Officer

Fwrdr Anselm Ekeh- Asst. Secretary (MMA Chapter