August 16, 2022

Reporters’ Diary

Factual Reportage

Badagry LG boss charges new councillors on dividends of democracy

The re-elected Chairman of Badagry Local Government Area, Mr Olusegun Onilude, on Wednesday said the time had come for real work for the development of the council area.

Onilude stated this at the inauguration ceremony of the 7th Legislative Council of BLG at its secretariat in Ajara, Badagry.

The chairman urged councillors to work towards protecting both the position of the government and safeguarding the interests of the residents.

“I need to let you know that it is time for real work and to justify our choice as widely expressed by the good people of Badagry in the Lagos council election held on July 24.

“I want to implore all the councillors-elect that all hands must be on deck to ensure dividends of democracy get to the nooks and crannies of the council.

“I want to encourage you as members of the Legislative Council, to always give prompt and adequate attention to all executive bills that may be forwarded to the council.

“This will facilitate the speed at which policies can be executed.

“I urge you all to expedite action at ensuring speedy provision of bye-laws for the council and equally look inward towards improving the Internally Generated Revenue (IGR) of the council,” he said.

Onilude promised to ensure a robust legislative and executive relationship which would be to the benefit of the people.

Congratulating the elected councillors, Mr Olushola Sholola, the Council Clerk, said the event was another journey and a step further in their political careers.

“I, therefore, congratulate you all for being successfully elected as councillors of your respective wards.

“I am convinced that the people of Badagry fervently believe that your election as members of 7th Legislative Council will consolidate the sterling achievements of the immediate past council.

“This will usher in greater developments, progress and prosperity to the local government,” he said.

Mr Taofeek Akindele was elected as the Leader of the 7th Legislative Council, while Mr Emmanuel Sokenu was elected as the Deputy Leader by the members.

Mr Williams Avoseh was elected as the Majority Leader, while Mr Mustapha Mehmud was elected Chief Whip.

APC chieftains, traditional rulers, local government staff, market men and women graced the ceremony.