August 18, 2022

Reporters’ Diary

Factual Reportage

LGEA rewards teachers, pupils with awards in Badagry

The Local Government Education Authority in Badagry on Friday rewarded head teacher, assistant, teachers, pupils and non- teaching staff for working hard in different primary Schools in the town.

Speaking during the 2021 Annual Merit Award programme, Alhaja Modinat Adebayo, the Executive Secretary LGEA Badagry emphasised that education is the passport to the future.

Adebayo said that the award programme was an event to recognize, celebrate and reward the outstanding operators of the system at different levels.

“This is to serve as a tool of encouragement to other staff, as we must note that among the best, there must be the overall best.

“I therefore want you all to know that you are all the best but we must recognize the first best,” she said.

The Education Secretary said that all the awardees went for both oral and written examination before they were selected by the committee as the best.

“That is why we decided to celebrate them to motivate them and encourage others to work harder so that they could also be selected the coming year.

“Teachers that did not win the award this year should be punctual, hardworking, pupils’ friendly and perform their lawful duty next year so that they will be chosen,” she said.

Adebayo urged parents to also take proper care of their children and motivate them to be the best in school.

According to her, I am very happy because the pupil from Badagry primary school came to throughout Lagos State.

She said that this had given them hope that this coming year, they could do better.

Adebayo urged parents to watch and pray for their children so that they Excel greatly in future.

She thanked Gov. Babajide Sanwo-Olu, his deputy Mr Kadri Hamzat and the Commissioner for Education, Mr Folashade Adefisayo for digitalising the sector in the state.

Also speaking, Mr Sonayon Bojerenu, the chairman, 2021 Annual Merit Award Planning Committee said the award was a kind of challenges to others teachers.

Bojerenu said that those that were awarded among the teachers really worked for it, adding that their hard work even affected the learning of the pupils positively.

He commended the three council chairmen in Badagry for contributing positively to the development of education in their area, adding that many training and workshops were organised for pupils and teachers Good chairman said that some council chairmen provided school bags, uniforms, sandals and teaching materials for both pupils and teachers.

Overall best head teacher award was given to Mrs Florence Akinleye of Anglican Primary School, Ikoga, while Mr Babata Sa’adu of Anglican Primary School, Igborosun, was also awareded best assistant head teacher.

Best class teacher award went to Mr Segun Ayoola of Ansarudeen Primary School II, Araromi while best pupil award was given to Miss Favour Oyetomi of Methodist Primary School, Ashipanu.

Best clerk award was given to Mr Victor Akinrinlade of Ansarudeen, Primary School, Badagry and best guard award went to Mr Segbenu Richard of Methodist Primary School, Erekiti.

“Best cleaner award goes to Mrs Ganiyat Oluarebi of Anglican Primary School, Ilado, best special pupil goes to Rafiat Oladega of Muslim Primary School, Badagry while best school award goes to Methodist Primary School, Kweme.

Mrs Florence Akinleye, the best head teacher awardee said she dedicated the award to God and Lagos State for their contribution to the upliftment of education in the state.

She urged teachers to be punctual, regular and be up and doing in their daily work.

Also speaking, Miss Favour Oyetomi, the overall best pupil, said she performed well in school by reading and understanding her books.

She urged other pupils to constitute habits of daily reading to perform better in school.

Oyetomi thanked her parents and teachers for giving her ability and wisdom to perform better.