August 16, 2022

Reporters’ Diary

Factual Reportage

CIEPHMN, MARAN host International Marine Conference on Thursday

CIEPHMN, the Maritme Reporters Association of Nigeria, (MARAN) and Multi-sectoral stakeholders will converge Thursday, September 16, 2021, at the Osun Hall of the Lagos Airport Hotel, Ikeja to brainstorm on critical issues, even as professional competence is celebrated, at the 2021 Annual International Marine Pollution and Seaport Environmental Health Management Conference and Leadership Excellence Awards.

According to press statement released today by the MARAN Secretary General, Obiajulu Agu, the event, which is organised by the Chartered Institute of Environmental and Public Health Management of Nigeria in collaboration with the Maritime Reporters’ Association of Nigeria (MARAN), will open at 10:00 AM. Earlier billed to hold at the Lagos Sheraton Hotel, Ikeja, strategic exigencies compelled a shift to the revamped Lagos Airport Hotel. The organisers said the event is instituted to provide a forum for seasoned experts and technocrats from the public and private sectors nationally and internationally to gather annually and discuss germane and contemporary issues affecting Nigeria’s maritime sector. The organisers stated: ” The Annual International Marine Pollution and Seaport Environmental Health Management Conference is strictly a Corporate Social Responsibility and Non-Fee-Paying Project where all stakeholders converge to find lasting solutions to complex challenges facing the maritime and marine environmental health sector. As a special conference that targets practitioners and stakeholders in the maritime, health and environmental management sectors, the objective is to critically examine the challenges facing the marine and seaport environmental health management and come up with a communique that will serve as an addendum to the Marine Pollution and Seaport Environmental Health Management Blueprint in Nigeria.” The resource persons include: Prof. Dele Badejo of the Department of Geography, Faculty of Social Sciences and Management, Olabisi Onabanjo University, , Ogun State; the Director-General/Chief Executive Officer, National Environmental Standards and Regulation Enforcement Agency (NESREA), Prof. Aliyu Jauro; and the Director of the Institute of Maritime and Energy Research and Sustainable Development, University of Ghana, Prof. Kwesi Addo-Appiah. Others are: the Director-General/Chief Executive Officer of the Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency (NIMASA), Dr. Bashir Jamoh; the Director-General/Chief Executive Officer of the National Oil Spill Detection and Response Agency (NOSDRA), Mr. Idris Musa; the Commissioner for the Environment and Water Resources, Lagos State, Mr. Tunji Bello; and the Chairman of the Seaports Terminals Operators Association of Nigeria (STOAN), Princess Vicky Haasstrup. A former Managing Director of the Nigerian Ports Authority (NPA), Chief Adebayo Sarumi, will pilot affairs at the event as Chairman, where a number of persons are billed to receive Leadership Excellence Awards.